• 管理大师论坛:启明创投创始人分享创业融资之道
  • 2012年4月28日 | 赵娜

     

    4月28日下午,启明创投创始人之一Gary Rieschel作为复旦-硅谷银行管理大师论坛的主讲嘉宾,与现场观众分享了他三十载的创业发展史。我院陆雄文院长、孙一民副院长接待了Gary先生一行。


    启明创投是一家致力于为广大年轻企业提供所需要投资、为本土企业提供国际化帮助的优秀风投公司。Gray毕业于哈佛商学院MBA,拥有超过25年的运营与投资经验,在创立启明前,他也是中美数个知名领先风险基金的创始人及主要投资人,此前还在如思科、英特尔等多个跨国企业中担任高级管理职位。拥有丰富业内经验与跨文化背景的他,为大家带来了一场颇具启迪意义的演讲。

     

     

    我院陆雄文院长(右一)、孙一民副院长(左一)与Gary Rieschel(右二)一行及主持人合影

     

    在哈佛商学院攻读完MBA后,Gray从学习和实践中领悟到规则与纪律是一个创业者必备的法宝。虽然曾在众多企业中担任高管,他仍希望有新的突破。随后,爱尝试、爱冒险的他又在摸索中开始全新生活,2001年来到中国后,Gary开始了事业的新起点,于2005年与合伙人一同创办启明创投。

     

    Gary Rieschel与现场观众一同分享了创业投资的成功之道

      

    谈及对创业企业的建议时,Gary通过自我总结,以“纪律、直接、开放、志愿精神”等数个词汇作为自己对于成功的看法与经验。他认为,有时付出是无利益回报的,但只有乐于助人才能得到他人的信任与日后的帮助。创业者不应该在乎自己现有多少,而是未来可以做到如何的成就,把自己置于一个陌生环境中,接受不同文化的冲击非常有益。不断强调时机的Gary之后还谈到,如今中国的市场环境不断发展变化,因此一家投资公司在判断投资对象时,更需将其置入大环境中进行考量,而一个好的想法并非就是一个好的投资机会。他认为,投资是一个充满了危机与挑战的领域,但其规则也很简单,没有风险便没有收获。对于企业及企业家而言,最重要的一点是如何诚实地评估自己的风险概况。  

     

     作为投资领域的从业者,Gary最后着重为在场听众带来了企业融资的注意事项。他提出,企业首先必须认清做好前期准备,坚定自己的想法,再寻找适合的风投吸引对方注意。而在与对方的合作会议中,不要浪费时间讲故事,应在20分钟之内切入主题;不要自以为是地夸夸其谈;也无需华丽的ppt展示,简洁明了的数据与图表更受青睐;当然,不要做出任何不切实际的先期保证。此外,Gary还强调到,公司需对本身财务状况有切实的认知,也要对融资之后加以详尽计划,“无需融资才是最好的融资”,他总结道。  

     

    讲座最后,听众们纷纷就Gary的经历与企业创业融资提出问题,他针对中国经济与政策环境下的企业创业、投资时机、启明创投的未来发展等核心焦点一一给出了独到的见解。

     

     

    返回 >>>

• Founder of Qiming Suggests on Entrepreneurship and Funding
  • Apr 28,2012

     

    On the afternoon of April 28th, Gary Rieschel, one of the founders of Qiming Venture Partners, was invited to deliver a keynote speech at the Fudan-SVB Forum of Management Masters held at School and share with the audience his experiences of entrepreneurship over the past three decades. He and his colleagues were warmly received by our Dean Xiongwen LU and Associate Professor Yimin SUN.

     

     

    Dean Xiongwen LU (first from right), Associate Professor Yimin SUN (first from left), Gary Rieschel (second from right), his colleague, and the MC 


    Qiming Venture Partners is an outstanding venture capital company dedicated to providing funding for start-up enterprises in China and assistance for Chinese companies in entering international markets. Gray holds an MBA degree from Harvard Business School and has over 25 years of business operation and investment. Before establishing Qiming Venture Partners, he was a founder and major investor of several reputable VC funds in China and the US. Before that, he held senior executive positions at major multinationals such as Cisco System and Intel. Based on his rich industrial and cross-cultural experiences, Gray delivered a very inspiring and informative speech at the Forum.


    After getting his MBA degree, Gray learned that self-discipline is a prerequisite for successful entrepreneurs. Even when he held senior executive positions at big companies, he never refrained from pushing the envelope and trying something new. In 2001, he came to China and started a new page in his career development. In 2005, he established Qiming Venture Partner with his co-founders.

     

     

    Gary Rieschel shares tips on successful entrepreneurship and investment with the audience


    When giving suggestions on entrepreneurship, Gary drew upon his experiences and used the terms of “self-discipline, directness, openness and voluntary spirit” as the fundamental concepts behind his suggestions. According to him, one can only earn trust and assistance from others in the future by helping them now without asking for anything in return. A good entrepreneur should not focus on what they have now but what they will accomplish in the future. He also needs to be open-minded to different cultures. Gary also mentioned the importance of timing. He indicated the Chinese market is ever-changing and, therefore, when assessing an investment target in China, it is more important to look at the whole picture by factoring in the macro environment. A good concept may not necessarily mean a good investment opportunity. As indicated by Gary, investment is a field full of dangers and challenges but the rule is quite simple — no risks, no gains. Therefore, for businesses and entrepreneurs, the most important thing is to honestly and thoroughly assess their risks.


    Before the end of his speech, Gary focused more on how to obtain funding for businesses. As he suggested, companies need to have thorough preparations and stay true to their own ideas before looking for suitable VC companies and seeking their attention. In addition, in the demonstration meeting, don’t waste time telling long stories or bragging about the company. Just cut to the chase within the first 20 minutes of the meeting and use simple and easy-to-understand charts and figures instead of fancy PowerPoint slides. In addition, never make any unrealistic guarantee. Gary particularly stressed that companies need to have accurate understanding of their finances and well-thought plans about what to do after obtaining funding. “The best funding is no need for funding at all,” he concluded.
    During the Q&A session, the audience asked Gary questions about entrepreneurship and funding. He gave insightful answers to the questions from the perspectives of the economic situations and policy supports in China, timing of investment, and future development of Qiming Venture Partners.

     

     

    return >>>